National Film Awards, Amitabh Bachchan and Kangana Ranaut take home the top honors

Mainstream Indian Cinema can have a glint in the face, as it bagged all the important awards at the 62nd National Film Awards. While Amitabh Bachchan is honored with the coveted Best Actor (Male) Award for his outstanding performance in Piku, Kangana Ranaut earned the Best Actor (female) Awards for her stunning portrayal of Tanu in Tanu Weds Manu Returns. S Rajamouli’s blockbuster Bhahubhali was elected as the Best Film and showman Sanjay Leela Bansali bagged the Best Director Award for Bajirao Mastani.

This is a fourth win for Big B, who has taken home the Best Actor trophy three times earlier for the movies, Agneepath, Black and Paa. Kangana Ranaut made it for a third time to get the Best Actor (Female) tag after her wins for the movies Fashion and Queen.

Even though Mollywood has a disappointing number of trophies, composer M Jayachandran became the Best Music Director for the song Kaathirunnu Kaathirunnu in Ennu Ninte Moideen. Mammootty-Salim Ahammed’s team’s expatriate saga, Pathemari is picked as the Best Malayalam Film. Jayasurya won a special Jury Mention for his performance in Su Su Sudhi Valmeekam and Lukka Chuppi. Ben, who was hailed for his performance in Ben, is picked as the Best Child Actor.

After a disappointing run in the State Awards, Dr. Biju’s Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal bagged the Best Film on Environment Conservation and Preservation. VK Prakash’s Nirnayakam is picked as the Best Film on Social Issues Award. Priya Manasam, directed by Vinod Mankara is selected as the Best Sanskrit Film. Director Vetrimaran continued the international success of his flick Viasarai by winning the Best Tamil Film Award.

The list of winners,

Best Film: Baahubali

Best Director: Sanjay Leela Bansali (Bajirao Mastani)

Best Actor: Amitabh Bachchan (Piku)

Piku Best Actress: Kangana Ranaut (Tanu Weds Manu Returns)

Best Hindi Film: Dum Laga Ke Haisha

Best Choreography: Remo D’Souza, (Deewani Mastani song in Bajirao Mastani)

Best Malayalam Film: Pathemari

Tamil Film: Viasarai

Best Telugu Film: Kanche

Best Sanskrit Film: Priya Manasam

Best Kannada Film: Thithi Best

Konkani Film: Enemy

Best Assamese Film: Kothanodi

Best Haryanvi Film: Satrangi

Best Khasi Film: Onaatah

Best Manipuri Film: Eibusu Yaohanbiyu

Best Mizo Film: Kima’s Lode Beyond the Class

The National Film Awards, which were established in 1954, honors the best works in the field of Indian Cinema every year. The award ceremony is held in New Delhi every year, where the President of India gives out the honors to the winners.